Welcome from your School Board

    board 2023
    District 7 Board of Trustees: Clay Mahaffey (Board Vice Chair), James Jones (who was appointed to fill the vacant seat 7-1), Jeff Mason, Hallie Hurst, Sharon Porter (Board Chair), Griffin Lynch, Meg Clayton, Rick Gray, Vernon Beatty (Board Secretary)
    Welcome and thank you for your interest in Spartanburg School District Seven. District 7 enjoys a strong productive working relationship among the dedicated administrators, teachers, support staff and the South Carolina Department of Education. Board Trustees are committed to delivering the best possible education to every student in our community and wholly embrace the District’s mission to “inspire and equip” all students for meaningful lives of leadership and service as world citizens.” The Board serves as the policy making body for the District, reviewing and adopting policies on almost every aspect of the school district. The Board works in close association with District 7 Superintendent Jeff Stevens and also enjoys a strong relationship with the broader District 7 community.

    The Board is comprised of nine elected representatives, each serving a four-year term. Board members are encouraged to attend training, seminars, and professional meetings to further their expertise in school board matters. We closely follow the results of the state and local testing programs to ensure that our students are prepared to be college and career ready. We frequently communicate with our elected representatives on legislative mandates and funding and are ever mindful of our fiduciary responsibility to the citizens of District 7.
    Board Trustees 
    On Dec 2, 2021, we welcomed District 7’s newly installed Trustees - Hallie Hurst and Griffin Lynch; and welcomed back those re-elected for a new term - Vernon Beatty, Jeff Mason, and Sharon Porter. All took the oath of office, pledging to serve the students, staff and families of our district to the best of their ability.
    The board also elected new officers, with Sharon Porter as chair, Clay Mahaffey as vice chair, and Vernon Beatty as secretary.
    In April 2023, James Jones was appointed to fill a vacancy on the nine-member board following the passing of Kenneth Myers, who served district 7-1.
    Thank you to our entire Board of Trustees for their leadership and service. 

How to Speak at a Board Meeting

  • Our School Board meets the first Tuesday of each month (except in July & December) at the District Administration Building at 610 Dupre Drive. Meetings begin at 6:00 pm. Those wishing to make public comments during a regular monthly meeting are asked to sign up during the day of the meeting at the District Office or by calling Debbie Scharff at 594-4405.  Those wishing to make comments are also asked to review our Policy BEDH Public Participation at Meetings. 

    Comments (-1)

Directions to Administration Building

  • Directions D7