Return to Headlines

Celebrating a Banner Year of Achievement!

Spartanburg High School competes with the very best in the state, and is at the head of the pack in the number of AP Scholars and the number of AP courses they offer! SHS students achieved an off-the-charts accomplishment - The College Board has announced 125 students who took Advanced Placement (AP) tests last May earned AP Scholar Awards - the most in the county! BRAVO, to all the teachers (K-12) who played a key role in the journey that led to these students’ success. They go above and beyond to inspire and equip our young people to do their best and it shows. D7 remains one of the highest-achieving school districts in the state in Advanced Placement. We congratulate everyone in our school community whose hard work makes these impressive results possible.
AP scholars
AP scholar names
We give a special nod to those who earned the AP Seminar and Research Certificate, AP Capstone Diploma, AP Scholars with Distinction, and AP Scholars with Honors. Note: as tests were taken in the Spring of 2022, some of our honorees are Class of 2022 graduates. 

national erit 

Six Spartanburg High School students have been honored as semifinalists or commended students in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship competition. The highest recognition goes to Sierra Hufford and Hannah Keen, who have been named National Merit Semifinalists, representing the top 1% of high school seniors in the nation based on their 2021 PSAT scores. Sierra and Hannah were among only 206 students from public and private schools across South Carolina to be honored. Each will have the opportunity to compete for National Merit scholarships in the spring. We also recognize Ellen Fields, Lillian Morris, Thomas Van Vleet and Elliott Wesson for being named National Merit Commended students.These outstanding seniors placed among the top 3% of the 1.5 million students competing for the honor. 

colleg board 

We are also proud to announce four seniors who earned academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Programs. These special recognitions were created to help colleges and scholarship programs connect directly with high-achieving students in underrepresented populations, increasing access and opportunity for those who demonstrate high potential. Students were selected because they excelled on the PSAT, on their AP exams, and/or in their grade point average. Ford Daniels and Tamaria Dawkins were named National African American Recognition Program Scholars, Ezra Anderson was named a National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholar, and Lawson Kyle was named a National Indigenous Program Scholar.


Congratulations to all these students, their families and teachers on this extraordinary recognition of their academic abilities. Each demonstrates talents and passions beyond academics every day, making them wonderful representatives of SHS and D7 schools. We are proud of these students for leading the way for those who follow!