Return to Headlines

It's School Board Appreciation Month

District 7 Honors School Board Members 

school board appreciation poster Spartanburg District 7 is joining school districts throughout the state and nation to celebrate School Board Recognition Month this January. More than 600 locally-elected and appointed school board members throughout South Carolina will be recognized by schools and communities for their service and dedication to public education – including our own Trustees; Sharon Porter, Sanders Lee, Vernon Beatty, Meg Clayton, Rick Grey, Andy Hayes, Clay Mahaffey, Jeff Mason and Ernest White.

The theme of this year’s recognition campaign, “Local Voice, People’s Choice,” highlights the fact that school board members speak for the people they are elected by to ensure the success of our public schools. Saluting the nine members of the District 7 Board, Superintendent Dr. Russell Booker said, “The efforts of a school board often go unrecognized. Our Board is the governing body of this school system. Our Trustees develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $67M, 7200 students, 1200 employees and more than a dozen facilities. District 7 has long been fortunate to enjoy the leadership of dedicated men and women who go above and beyond to care about our children and the strength of our schools.” Booker went on to say that if you add up the service among the nine Trustees, they share well over a century of commitment to the community.

To learn more about our Board Members, check out these Board Spotlights!